Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


7 January 2016

Help find our best goal of 2015!

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2015 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2015 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination. Our Best Bits of 2015 video below shows 16 goals from the past 12 months but we've picked out a shortlist of seven to choose from. 

A) Tom Pett v York City
B) Ben Kennedy v Southend United
C) Dean Parrett v Southend United
D) Chris Whelpdale v Exeter City
E) Jesse Joronen v Wycombe Wanderers
F) Chris Whelpdale (second goal) v Morecambe
G Jamille Matt v AFC Wimbledon

Simply watch the video and then cast your vote by one of the following methods:
- Tweet us @stevenagefc using the hashtag #borogoty
- Reply to our Facebook post with your vote
- Email us at - please use "Goal of the Year" as the subject

The closing date is Friday 15th January 2016.

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2016 held at Manchester Central.  A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football League Tonight Show.  Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at Manchester Central on 17th April 2016. 

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2014), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block