Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


8 March 2016

The nationwide search by Capital One and the Football League for Supporter of the Year nominations as part of the Football League Awards 2016 is fast drawing to a close.

To nominate someone for the award visit by midday on Wednesday 9th March.

The winner will be announced at the annual Football League Awards 2016 on Sunday, 17th April 2016 at Manchester Central, where they will receive the Capital One Supporter of the Year trophy.

Supporters are asked to nominate fellow fans that have gone above and beyond the call of duty to support their club by submitting suggestions online via Entries will only be submitted once you press the 'SUBMIT' button at the bottom of the entry form.

Entries must include the nominee's name, supported club, and details of what makes them a great fan of their club, including why you think they should win the award.

Nominations are invited for fans of any current Football League club.  A winner for each division will be decided, with the overall Capital One Supporter of the Year announced at the star-studded evening in April, which recognises and celebrates excellence both on and off the field.

BBC 5 Live’s 606 show will be supporting the award this year, helping to increase the visibility of this category to supporters across the country. The 3 divisional winners will be interviewed live on the show the Saturday night before the Awards.

Brighton & Hove Albion fan Sarah Watts was named the Capital One Supporter of the Year at The Football League Awards 2015. She was well known for her relentless campaigning against homophobia with the Brighton & Hove Supporters’ Club and the Gay Football Supporters’ Network. She also played a vital role in ensuring the Club’s new stadium was built due to her work on the ‘Falmer For All’ campaign.  

Sarah beat competition for the overall award from two other divisional winners – Crawley Town’s Tracey Cole (League 1) and Exeter City’s Greg Hill (League 2).

If you think you know someone who deserves to be recognised and lift the trophy this year then nominate them now by visiting

Nominations close at 12pm on Wednesday, 9th March 2016.

For more information about the Football League Awards visit

Advertisement block