Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Stevenage FC recognised with Family Excellence award

28 April 2017

Club News

Stevenage FC recognised with Family Excellence award

28 April 2017

Stevenage FC have once again achieved the EFL Family Excellence award to go along with being named the Sky Bet League Two Family Club of the Year in 2016/2017.

Created in 2007, the EFL Family Excellence Award recognises the outstanding experience provided by clubs for young fans and families, as well as their efforts to enhance the matchday experience.

Since joining the EFL in 2011, Stevenage FC have made great strides in delivering fantastic matchday experiences for kids and families and now have six Family Excellence awards and two League Two Family Club of the Year awards to show for it.

Now in the 10th anniversary year of the Family Excellence Awards, an unprecedented (51) number of clubs have attained the Family Excellence Award for 2017 with a significant increase in the benchmark standard being applied by the judging panel. 

Over the past 10 years, more and more young people have made their way through the turnstiles in the EFL, with junior season ticket sales having increased by a staggering 37% since 2007, and 20% of all EFL club match attendees now under the age of 16.

Such evidence is a strong indication of a healthy future for football in this country according to Shaun Harvey, EFL Chief Executive.

He said, “The EFL Family Excellence Awards have proven to be a fantastic vehicle for celebrating and highlighting the excellent progress that clubs are making in providing families with improved match day experiences.

“Now in their 10th year, the Awards have made a significant impact and this year’s winners have once again shown how innovative thinking and a strong commitment can enhance the experience for both home and away.

“I wish to congratulate each and every club who has been recognised for playing their part in continuing to attract a growing number of younger fans to the game in what is undoubtedly a valuable indication of a bright and healthy future for the EFL.”


Clubs receiving the Award in 2017:


AFC Wimbledon

Aston Villa

Birmingham City

Blackburn Rovers

Bolton Wanderers


Brighton & Hove Albion

Bristol City

Bristol Rovers

Cambridge United

Cardiff City

Carlisle United

Charlton Athletic

Cheltenham Town


Colchester United

Crawley Town

Crewe Alexandra

Derby County

Doncaster Rovers

Exeter City


Huddersfield Town

Ipswich Town

Leeds United

Luton Town

Mansfield Town


MK Dons


Newport County

Northampton Town

Norwich City

Nottingham Forest

Oldham Athletic

Oxford United

Peterborough United


Preston North End




Rotherham United

Scunthorpe United

Sheffield Wednesday


Southend United


Wolverhampton Wanderers

Wycombe Wanderers



Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account