Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

EFL Statement: League Two season ends after vote at Extrordinary General Meeting

9 June 2020

Jim Steele

League Two Clubs have voted by an overwhelming majority to formally end the 2019/20 season...

The division had previously indicated their preference for curtailment but following today’s Extraordinary General Meeting, Clubs were required to pass a resolution in accordance with Regulation 9A.

As a result, the final League standings have now been confirmed meaning that Swindon Town have been confirmed as Champions with Crewe Alexandra and Plymouth Argyle securing the second and third automatic promotion places to League One.

Cheltenham Town, Exeter City, Colchester United and Northampton Town will contest the Sky Bet Play-Offs.

Under the proposals agreed by Clubs, the 24th placed Club in the League Two will be relegated to the National League provided the Board receives the necessary assurances that the National League will start Season 2020/21 (i.e. the relegated Club in League Two has somewhere to play).

Due to ongoing disciplinary matters, the final placings cannot yet be confirmed.


Kit Header New.png

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account